Liquified Petroleum Gas (LPG)
Propane is a flammable gas which is sometimes generically referred to as LP Gas, LPG, or Liquefied Petroleum Gas. Propane gas can be found in a wide variety of industrial, commercial, and residential settings. As a fuel source, propane can be found in homes, in the workplace, in bulk transportation in cargo tank trucks or rail cars, and as a fuel for motor vehicles.
To check to see if your company is currently licensed or your employees are certified, click here:
- Class I: A licensed dealer who is engaged in the business of installing gas appliances or systems for the use of LPG and who sells, fills, refills, delivers, or is permitted to deliver any LPG.
- Class II: A business engaged in the sale, transportation, and exchange of cylinders, but not transporting or transferring gas in liquid.
- Class III: A business not engaged in the sale of LPG, but engaged in the sale and installation of gas appliances or LPG systems.
- Class IV: Those businesses listed below:
- LPG dispensers
- Sale of containers greater than 96 pounds water capacity.
- Other LPG businesses not listed above.
An application for the original or renewal license shall be made on forms provided by the State Fire Marshal’s Office. The application for a license to engage in the business of LPG shall be accompanied with proof of public liability insurance. The public liability insurance shall be issued by a public liability insurance carrier showing coverage of at least $1,000,000 for each incident, and $2,000,000 in total coverage.
The application shall be signed by an authorized representative of the applicant. If the application is made by a partnership, it shall be signed by at least one partner. If the application is made by a corporation or association other than a partnership, it shall be signed by the principal officers, or authorized agents.
Following receipt of the properly completed application, an inspection, completion of all inspection requirements, and compliance with the provision of the statute and these rules, our office shall issue a license.
Original licenses shall be valid for one year from the date of issuance.
Application for Concern License or Status Change LPG Form
CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION
Application for an LPG certificate shall be made online or in writing to The Utah State Fire Marshal’s Office. The application shall be signed by the applicant.
The applicant shall pass an initial examination with a score of 70 percent or greater.
Types of Initial Examinations:
For paper testing, fill out the Certificate of Registration below. More instructions can be found here:
The initial examination shall include an open book written test of the applicant’s knowledge of the work to be performed. The applicant is allowed to use the Utah Fire and Safety Prevention Act – LPG, R710-6 LPG Rules, NFPA 54, and NFPA 58. Other materials and cell phone are not to be used during the examination.
The examination may also include a practical demonstration of some selected aspects of the job if so warranted by the test administrator.
The initial examination shall be waived for:
- Those applicants that have successfully completed the requirements of the Certified Employee Training Program (CETP), as written by the National Propane Gas Association, and that corresponds to the work to be performed by the applicant.
- Those applicants that have successfully completed the requirements in Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 49, Parts 172.700, 172.704, 177.800 and 177.816, that corresponds to the work to be performed by the applicant.
- Those applicants that have successfully completed the Rocky Mountain Gas Association, Natural Gas Technician Certification Exam with a passing score, shall have the requirement for initial examination waived, after appropriate documentation is provided to the Division by the applicant.
- Those applicants that are licensed journeyman plumbers as required in the Constructions Trades Licensing Act Plumber Licensing Rules, R156-55c, shall have the requirement for initial examination waived, after appropriate documentation is provided to the Division by the applicant.
Original LPG certificates shall be valid for one year from the date of issuance. Thereafter, each LPG certificate shall be renewed annually and renewals shall be valid from for one year from issuance.
It is required to provide the State Fire Marshal’s Office plot plans on these types of installations. New and updated systems require plot plans submitted to our office.
- LPG systems involving the storage of over 5000 water gallons
- Liquid transfer systems with less than 5000 gallons
- LP Gas exchange cabinets
LP Gas Plan Review Requirements
LP Gas Exchange Cabinet Plan Review Requirements
Boyd Cook – Section Manager, LP Gas – 801-580-3443
Justin Cheever – LP Gas – 385-831-5979
Keith Claybaker – LP Gas – 385-296-6447
Copyright © 2021 State of Utah – All rights reserved.