Licensing and Certification
Wholesalers, Retailers and Wholesaler/Retailers of display fireworks are required to obtain a Concern License through the completion of a written application and the payment of an annual fee.
Operators/Artisans are required to be 21 years of age or older and to obtain a license through the completion of a written application, pass a written examination with a minimum score of 70%, submit proof of safety class completion and verified actual performance experience along with the payment of the annual $40.00 fee. In addition, the Operator/Artisan is to complete an “After Action Report” within 10 days of each display/performance. A re-certification examination is required every five years.
There are four classifications of Operators:
- Outdoor Display Fireworks Operator (Three verified performances & Safety Class required.)
Knowledge of NFPA 1123 and Utah R710-2.
- Special Effects Operators-Pyrotechnics before a Proximate Audience (Three verified performances & Safety Class required.)
Knowledge of NFPA 1126 and Utah R710-2.
- Flame Effects Operators-Use of Flame Effects before a Proximate Audience (Three verified performances & Safety Class required.)
Knowledge of NFPA 160 and Utah R710-2
- Flame Effects Artisans/Performers-Use of Flame Effects in an Artistic Performance before an Audience (Five verified participation in training meetings or practice sessions plus a Safety Class required.)
Knowledge of NFPA 160, Utah R710-2, and the Artisan’s & Performers Safety Standards
For a list of the current NFPA editions click here.
R710-2 may be found on this website in the Laws and Rules Section. The Artisan’s & Performers Safety Standards booklet required for Fire Artisans/Performers may be acquired by contacting Sheri Stevens, Utah State Fire Marshal’s Office at 801.256-2367.
Examinations for all certification classifications shall be completed at the State Fire Marshal’s Office at: 410 West 9800 South, 3rd Floor, Sandy, UT 84070. To schedule your test, please call Sheri Stevens. Upon completion of all requirements, submit payment at the State Fire Marshal’s Office by cash, credit card or check.