Fire Marshal Menu

Fire Prevention Board

The next regularly scheduled meeting is Tuesday, March 14, 2024, at 8:30 A.M. at Utah State Fire Marshal’s office, 410 W. 9800 South, Suite 372, Sandy, Utah 84070.  This will be an in-person and virtual meeting via the following link:       


State Law includes a “Utah Fire Prevention & Safety Act” which calls for the creation of the Utah Fire Prevention Board.

The Board is responsible for making rules that provide for minimum standards for the prevention of fire and for the protection of life and property against fire and panic in any publicly owned building, public or private schools, higher educational facilities, hospitals and other health care facilities, institutional type facilities and places of assembly. The Board also establishes requirements for fireworks and the adoption of specific editions of the fire standards and codes to be used in the State of Utah.

The Board is appointed by the Governor and includes members from the following groups:

  • Building Official
  • Citizen-at-Large
  • Fire Marshals’ Association of Utah
  • Licensed Architect
  • Licensed Engineer
  • Utah State Firefighters’ Association 
  • State Fire Chiefs’ Association
  • Fire Officer Class 1 Counties
  • Fire Officer Class 2 Counties 
  • Fire Officer Class 3-6 Counties
  • State Forester

The State Fire Marshal’s Office provides staff support to the Board.