Fire Marshal Menu

Contact Us

When to Contact The Utah Fire Marshal’s Office:

  • Certification or Licensing: LPG, Extinguishers, Fire-Safe Cigarettes, Fireworks/Flame Effects, & Fire Suppression Systems.
  • Plan Review Information (State-owned buildings: K-12 schools; charter schools; state funded universities and colleges; hospitals; nursing homes; assisted living facilities; memory care facilities; jails and prisons; etc).
  • GRAMA requests.
  • Arson Investigation Support for Fire Departments
  • Public Education Support/Juvenile Firesetter Support/Fire Corps
  • HAZMAT support & training, including blasting permits.

When to Contact Your Local Fire Department:

  • Fire or Emergency (call 9-1-1).
  • Residential code questions.
  • Business concerns/questions.
  • Fire station visits.
  • School safety programs.

Main Office Number:  801-256-2390
Fax Number:  801-256-2386

Hover over the name to see the address or right-click to copy.


Ted Black –  State Fire Marshal – 801-602-7406  
Jon Ritchie – Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal – 801-864-3553
Jana DeMille – Administrative Assistant – 801-256-2384
Gina Proctor – Office Specialist – 801-256-2372
Susan Maschek– Office Specialist – 801-256-2390
Venice Nia Kekauoha – Fireworks and UFIRS/NFIRS – 801-386-0570

Plan Examination
Kelly G. Snow Fire Protection Engineer – Automatic Fire Sprinkler Systems – 801-554-5942
Shane Cook – Fire Protection Engineer -General Building Plan Examination – 801-702-7749
Jim Barnett – Fire Protection Engineer – Fire Alarm Systems – 385-434-4585
Sheri StevensFire Protection Engineer – Plans Examination – 385-249-8415

Fire Prevention Education
Andrew McCormick – Public Education Program Coordinator – 801-702-7748

Fire Prevention / Fire Investigation
All areas assigned include: schools, state buildings, jails, institutional, and colleges. The exception is the State Buildings within the identified boundary of area’s #3 and #4.

Ryan Nelson: 385-488-3776
Box Elder, Daggett, Morgan, Park City, North and South Summit, Uintah, Ogden, and Weber.
Shane Maughan: 801-783-6579
Cache, Logan, Rich and Section Manager.
Lane Oberg: 385-463-6810
Davis, Tooele, and State Buildings of Salt Lake County boundary of I-15 south to SR-201 to the
west to I-80 and back to the north border and I-15.
Reed Thompson: 385-488-3773
Granite, Murray, and Salt Lake. Excluding the State Buildings of Salt Lake County boundary of I-15 south to SR-201 to the west to I-80 and back to the north border and I-15.
Cory Feese: 801-419-9392
Canyons and Jordan.
Chris Hendrickson: 385-302-5411
Alpine, Provo, Wasatch, and Duchesne.
Rohn Peterson: 801-608-5974
Carbon, Emery, Grand, Juab, Nebo, Piute, North and South Sanpete, San Juan, Sevier, Tintic,
and Wayne.
Don Christensen: 385-287-4768
Beaver, Garfield, Iron, Kane, Millard, and Washington.

Interactive Map of Inspection Areas

Hazardous Materials
Art Deyo – Section Manager, Hazardous Materials Trainer – 801-618-9277
Paul Christensen -Hazardous Materials Trainer- 385-296-2529
Wade Francis – Hazardous Materials Trainer – 801-834-1271
Ryan Putman – Hazardous Materials Trainer – 801-440-7696
Steve Higley – Special Projects Coordinator – 801-726-1089

LP Gas / Fire Extinguishers / Hood Systems / Fire Safe Cigarettes 

Boyd CookSection Manager, LP Gas – 801-580-3443
Justin Cheever LP Gas – 385-831-5979
Keith Claybaker – LP Gas – 385-296-6447
Russ Sneddon – Fire Safe Cigarette / Fire Extinguishers /Fire -Suppression/ Kitchen Hood Systems – 385-434-9609

Contact Form

Are you a Utah Resident?