
PLEASE SUBMIT THIS FORM TO THE ADDRESS BELOW 

UTAH DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL 

410 West 9800 South, 3rd Floor, Sandy, Utah 84070 
Phone: 801-256-2390 
Fax: 801-256-2386 

GOVERNMENT RECORDS REQUEST FORM 

Name of Requester: _______________________________ Daytime Phone Number: ____________________ 

Mailing Address: __________________________________________________________________________ 

Name of Organization or Company: ___________________________________________________________ 

Records being sought:      Date of Incident:     ________________________
͏ Fire Investigation Report 

List the Case Number or Location of Incident: _________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________________

͏ Fire Photos – NOTE: There is a $25.00 fee for CD/DVD of Photos 
͏ Other records: (Describe the record(s) with reasonable specificity) 

________________________________________________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Reason you believe you are entitled to access these records: _______________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________________________ 

The release of fire investigation reports is governed by the Government Records Access and 
Management Act (GRAMA) found at Utah Code Ann. § 63G-2-101 et seq.   

NOTE: The report you are requesting may be classified by the Office of the State Fire Marshal as a 
“protected” record pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 63G-2-305(9).  Utah Code Ann. § 63G-2-206 allows a 
governmental agency to share a protected record with another governmental agency.  Fire Investigation 
Reports may be provided at NO COST to the primary Fire Department and/or Law Enforcement Agency that 
has requested assistance with a fire investigation.  

The current DPS fee schedule approved by the Utah State Legislature is as follows: (Please include fee along with form.) 
Black and white copies Photos CD/DVD 

– $5.00 for 1 to 10 pages – $25.00 per CD/DVD
– $25.00 for 11 to 50 pages – $2.00 per printed page (1,2, or 4 per page)
– $.50 per page every page thereafter

Color Copies 
– $1.00 per page for color copies

Utah Code Ann. § 63G-2-206(6)(a) provides that an entity receiving a record under the sharing 
provisions is subject to the same restrictions on disclosure of the record as the originating entity.  Therefore 
any further dissemination of this record is limited to those individuals specified in Utah Code Ann. § 63G-2-
202(4).   

Requester Signature: __________________________________________ Date: _______________________ 

Revised July 9, 2018 
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