Chapter 15.08
FIRE CODE

15.08.010: MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS:
15.08.020: ADOPTION:

15.08.030: AMENDMENTS:

15.08.040: FIRE CODE OFFICIAL:
15.08.050: ENFORCEMENT:

15.08.010: MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS:

This chapter is adopted as the requirements concerning the regulations governing life safety and fire
prevention code. Where the provisions of this code conflict with the provisions of another, the more
specific requirement shall be applicable. (Ord. 2006-16, 12-5-2006)

15.08.020: ADOPTION:

The county council and executive, in order to prescribe regulations governing the safeguarding of life
and property from fire and explosion hazards arising from the storage, handling and use of
hazardous substances, materials and devices, and from conditions hazardous to life or property in
the occupancy of buildings and premises as herein provided; providing for the issuance of permits
and collection of fees therefor; and each and all of the regulations, provisions, penalties, conditions
and terms of said fire code on file in the office of the county clerk are hereby referred to, adopted,
and made a part hereof, as if fully set out in this section, with the additions, insertions, deletions and
changes, if any, prescribed below, hereby adopts as its fire code:

A. The international fire code, published by the International Code Council and National Fire
Protection Agency Association codes and standards as adopted by the state of Utah in title 53,
chapter 7, section 106 of the Utah code and Utah administrative code rule 710, chapter 9,
section 1.

B. Amendments and additions as published in the Utah administrative code rule 710, chapter 9,
section 6.

C. The international urban-wildland interface code, published by the International Code Council and
the exceptions adopted in Utah administrative code rule 652, chapter 122. (Ord. 2006-16, 12-5-
2006)

15.08.030: AMENDMENTS:

The following sections of the international fire code are also hereby revised:



A. Section 101.1 Insert: Cache County for NAME OF JURISDICTION].

B. Section 109.3 Insert: Class C misdemeanor for [SPECIFY OFFENSE].

C. Section 109.3 Insert: up to seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00) for [AMOUNT].

D. Section 109.3 Insert: up to ninety days for [NUMBER OF DAYS].

E. Section 111.4 Insert: up to two hundred and fifty dollars ($250.00) for the first [AMOUNT] and up
to seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00) for the second [AMOUNT].
(Ord. 2006-16, 12-5-2006)

15.08.040: FIRE CODE OFFICIAL:

Whenever the words "fire code official" or "fire official" are used in the fire code adopted in this
chapter, they shall mean the Cache County fire chief. (Ord. 2006-16, 12-5-2006)

15.08.050: ENFORCEMENT:

The fire code shall be enforced by the Cache County fire district under the supervision of the Cache
County fire chief. The Cache County fire chief may assign such members from the fire district as fire
marshal, deputy fire marshals or inspectors as shall from time to time be necessary. The urban-
interface code shall be enforced by the Cache County fire district and the Cache County
development services department. All citations and penalties issued in the enforcement of this code
shall be done with direct consultation and oversight of the Cache County attorney or his/her
designee. (Ord. 2006-16, 12-5-2006)



