
OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL 
Certification of Cigarette Manufacturer under

Utah Reduced Cigarette Ignition Propensity & Firefighter 
Protection Act 2008 

Please Review Instructions Prior to Completion 

Part 1:  Type of Certification 

Type of Certification □ Initial □ Supplemental □ 3 Year Re-certification
(Check one) 

Type of Manufacturer:       □ Participating Manufacturer □ Non-Participating Manufacturer
(Check one) 

Part 2:  Manufacturer Identification 
Company Name: FEIN 
Mailing Address:
City: State: Zip Code: Country:
Phone Fax: Web Address:
Name and Title of individual completing form:
E-Mail Address:

Part 3:  Brand Family Certification – Fire Safe Cigarettes   ( Attach Addendum pages as necessary) 
The undersigned Manufacturer certifies, under penalty of perjury, as of the date of this Certification, it is a 
cigarette manufacturer, and is in full compliance with the Utah Fire Prevention and Safety Act of the Public 
Safety Code (UCA), Sections 53-7-401 through 53-7-411 and the Rules promulgated by the State Fire 
Marshal.  The Cigarettes included in this Certification have been tested in accordance with ASTM standard 
E2187-04 and meet the performance standard specified in UCA 53-7-403.  In accordance with UCA 53-7-404 
list the brand (i.e., the trade name on the package); style (e.g., light, ultra light) length in millimeters; 
circumference in millimeters; flavor (e.g., menthol, chocolate) if applicable; filter or non-filter; and package 
description (e.g., soft pack, box) for each cigarette sought to be Certified as in compliance with the Utah Fire 
Prevention and Safety Act.  If necessary use the Addendum form to list additional Brands and their styles. 

Brand 
(Trade name on 

package) 

Style 
(Light, ultra light, etc.) 

Length and 
Circumference 

(in millimeters)

Flavor 
(Menthol, 
Chocolate, 

etc.) 

Filter/Non Package 
(Soft pack, box, etc.) 

The State Fire Marshal will not process incomplete or illegible certifications. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL 
Certification of Cigarette Manufacturer under

Utah Reduced Cigarette Ignition Propensity & Firefighter 
Protection Act 2008 

Please Review Instructions Prior to Completion 

Part 4: Test Method 
The cigarettes included in this Certification have been tested using the following method (check one) and the 
test results are attached.  The Manufacturer certifies it will retain the testing data for a minimum of 3 years 
and will provide the data to the State Fire Marshal and the Attorney General upon request. 

□ ASTM E2187-04

□ Alternate method approved by the Utah State Fire Marshal.  Attach a copy of the Fire Marshal
Authorization of the proposed testing method.

Part 5:  Marking Approval 
All cigarettes included in this Certification have an approved marking of FSC on each pack, carton and case 
or other approved marking, at or around the area of the UPC code as required by UCA 53-7-405. 

□ Copy of Fire Marshal approval dated _________ is attached.

□ Manufacturer proposed marking is attached and submitted with this Certification (The proposed marking
is 8-point type or larger and complies with UCA 53-7-405).

Part 6:  Fee Calculation 
1.  The number of cigarette brand styles listed on this Certification ……….………… ______________________ 
2.  Processing and enforcement fee of $250.00 for each style listed ………….…….. $_____________________ 
3.  Amount due Utah State Fire Marshal  (Line 1 times line 2) ………….……………… $_____________________ 

     Amount remitted with this Certification:      $__________________ 
     No brand styles will be Certified for sale in the State of Utah or be included in the Utah Fire 
     Prevention and Safety Authorized List until the fee is paid in full. 

Part 7:  Certification Information Provided to Wholesale Dealers and Agents 
As of the date on this Certification, the undersigned Manufacturer hereby certifies under penalty of perjury 
that it has provided copies of the Certification to all Utah licensed wholesale dealers and agents, as required 
by UCA 53-7-405(6) as well as those who may sell to a Utah licensed wholesale dealer or agent.  The 
undersigned Manufacturer further certifies that it has provided sufficient copies of the cigarette package 
markings to the licensed wholesale dealers and agents with the instruction that the copies be provided to all 
Utah retail dealers to which they sell cigarettes. 
Attach a list of wholesale dealers and agents including the name, address, phone number, contact person, 
and the number of copies of package markings which were provided.  If the wholesale dealer or agent 
requests an electronic copy rather than paper copies, please note such. 

Part 8: Designated Contact 
Name: Title:
Mailing Address: 
City: State: Zip Code: Country:
Phone: Fax: E-Mail:

The State Fire Marshal will not process incomplete or illegible certifications. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL 
Certification of Cigarette Manufacturer under

Utah Reduced Cigarette Ignition Propensity & Firefighter 
Protection Act 2008 

Please Review Instructions Prior to Completion 

Part 9:  Manufacturer Certification 
Under penalties of perjury, I state that, to the best of my knowledge, all of the information contained in this 
Certification and any attached documents are true and accurate and that I am a person authorized to bind 
the Manufacturer making this Certification either under the laws of the State of Utah or of the jurisdiction 
where the Manufacturer resides or is organized.  I understand that the Fire Marshal may require additional 
information and/or documentation to determine whether the Manufacturer qualifies for listing on the Utah 
State Directory of Fire Safe Cigarettes.  This document must be signed and dated by an authorized 
notary public. 

___________________________________________    ___________________________________________ 
Authorized Designee (Print Name)                                          Title 

___________________________________________    ___________________________________________ 
Signature of Authorized Designee                                            Date 

Subscribed and sworn to     _________________________     _______________________________________________ 
before me this date:                                                               Signature of Notary Public 

    _________________________  ________________ 
        County                                Commission Expires 

MAIL TO 

Submit the complete certification and other required            For additional forms and information 
Documentation to the State Fire Marshal 

Phone:  (801) 256-2390 
Fax:  (801) 256-2386 
rsneddon@utah.gov

Russ K. Sneddon
Office of the State Fire Marshal 
410 West 9800 South, 3rd Floor  
Sandy, Utah  84070  

And a copy to the Utah Attorney General’s Office 
At this address: 

Joshua R. Nelson
Perri Ann Babalis     
Utah Attorney General’s Office

 

 160 East 300 South, 5th Floor
P.O. Box 140874
Salt Lake City, Utah    
84114  

The State Fire Marshal will not process incomplete or illegible certifications. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL 
Certification of Cigarette Manufacturer under 

Utah Reduced Cigarette Ignition Propensity & Firefighter Protection Act 
2008 

Please Review Instructions Prior to Completion 

General Information Brand family: Provide the brand name, the style (light,
ultra light), length in millimeters, circumference in
millimeters, flavor (menthol, chocolate), filter/non-filter,
and package description (soft pack, box).Who must file this Certification? 
A Brands Addendum page is included with the
Certification packet and is available on the Utah State
Fire Marshal’s web page.

Any Participating or Non-participating Manufacturer, who intend 
for their brands to be listed as compliant with the Fire Prevention 
and Safety Act. 
Beginning July 1, 2008, it is unlawful to stamp or offer for sale in 
the State of Utah any cigarette that is not compliant with the Utah 
Fire Prevention and Safety Act. 

Part 4: Test Method 
Check the box indicating which test method applies to
the Brands being certified.
If an alternative test method is being used, attach a
copy of the Fire Marshal’s authorization of the
alternative test method.

When is this Certification due? 
The initial Certification must be filed and approved with the State 
Fire Marshal and a copy filed with the Attorney General, no later 
than April 30, 2008.  All Certification applications and three-year 
re-Certifications must be filed by April 30 of each re-certification 
year thereafter.  The State Fire Marshall will not process 
incomplete or illegible certifications. 

Attach most recent test results.

Part 5: Marking Approval 
Prior to the Certification of any cigarettes, a
Manufacturer shall present its proposed marking to the
State Fire Marshal for approval.

Where do I send my completed Certification? Attach a copy of Fire Marshal approval or attach the
proposed marking for approval.Mail this completed Certification (FS-1) and related documents to: 
Check whether the 8-point type or larger is in
conjunction with or is at or around the UPC code.

Utah State Fire Marshal 
Division of Public Safety 

Part 6: Fee Calculation 
Multiply the total number of cigarette styles listed by
$250.00.

410 West 9800 South
Sandy, Utah 84040

Remit with the Certification. 
With a copy to: 

Part 7:  Certification Information Provided to Wholesale 
Dealers and Agents 

Manufacturers are required to provide a copy of the
Certification to all wholesale dealers and agents to which
they sell cigarettes. See UCA Section 53-7-405(6).

Utah Attorney General’s Office 
Attn:  Tobacco Contact 
160 East 300 South, 5th Floor
P.O. Box 140874
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-0857 

Wholesale dealer means any person who sells cigarettes
or tobacco products to retail dealers or other persons for
purposes of resale as well as a person who owns,
operates, or maintains one or more cigarette or tobacco
product vending machines.

Specific Instructions 
Part 1: Type of Certification 

Agent means any person authorized by the State Tax
Commission to purchase and affix stamps on packages
of cigarettes.

Initial Certification application is due April 30, 2008 
Subsequent re-Certifications are due 60 days prior to
expiration

Provide information about the wholesale dealers and
agents to which copies of the cigarette package marking
is provided.  If a wholesale dealer or agent requests a
manufacturer to provide one copy of the marking,
electronically or otherwise, and desires to make copies
as needed for its customers, please note such.

The first three-year re-Certification is due April 30, 2011.
Supplemental Certifications must be filed if brand styles
are to be added or removed.

Part 2: Manufacturer Identification 
Provide your company name, address, phone, fax, web address, 
FEIN, and name, title and E-Mail address of person completing the 
form. Part 8 : Designated Contact 

Provide the name, title, address, phone and fax numbers, and 
email address of the individual the Fire Marshal should contact 
with respect to matters relating to this certification.  The 
designated contact is the individual who will receive mailings. 

Part 3: Brand Family Certification 
Check whether the Brand family is currently listed on the
Utah Cigarette and RYO Authorized Brands Publication
51. 

Part 9:  Manufacturer Certification Identify each Brand Family and style of cigarettes the
company intends to sell in Utah, either directly or
indirectly through any distributor, retailer or similar
intermediary, and seeks to have included in the Fire Safe
Directory. 

The authorized designee executing the Certification must be an 
officer, principal, director or other authorized representative of the 
Manufacturer.  The authorized designee’s name and title must be 
legibly printed and their signature must be notarized.

FSC-1 03-27-08
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