R710. Public Safety, Fire Marshal.
R710-1. Concerns Servicing Portable Fire Extinguishers.
R710-1-1. Adoption, Title, Purpose, and Prohibitions.

Pursuant to Section 53-7-204, Utah Code Annotated 1953, the Utah
Fire Prevention Board adopts minimum rules to provide regulation to
those concerns that service Portable Fire Extinguishers.

There is adopted as part of these rules the following code which
is incorporated by reference:

1.1 National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), Standard 10,
Standard for Portable Fire Extinguishers, 2007 edition, except as
amended by provisions listed in R710-1-8, et seq.

1.2 A copy of the above mentioned standard is on file in the
Office of Administrative Rules and the State Fire Marshal's Office.

1.3 Validity.

If any section, subsection, sentence, clause, or phrase, of these
rules is, for any reason, held to be unconstitutional, contrary to
statute, or exceeding the authority of the SFM, such decision shall
not affect the validity of the remaining portion of these rules.

1.4 Order of Precedence.

In the event of any difference between these rules and any adopted
reference material, the text of these rules shall govern. When a
specific provision varies from a general provision, the specific
provision shall apply.

R710-1-2. Definitions.

2.1 "Annual" means a period of one year or 365 calendar days.

2.2 "Board" means Utah Fire Prevention Board.

2.3 "Branch Office" means any location, other than the primary
business location, where business license, telephone, advertising
and servicing equipment is utilized.

2.4 "Certificates of Registration" means a written document
issued by the SFM to any person for the purpose of granting permission
to such person to perform any act or acts for which authorization
is required.

2.5 "Concern" means a person, firm, corporation, partnership,
or association, licensed by the SFM.
2.6 "Employee" means those persons who work for a licensed

concern, and may include, but shall not be limited to, those persons
who work on a contractual basis.

2.7 "License" means a written document issued by the SFM
authorizing a concern to engage in the business of servicing portable
fire extinguishers.

2.8 "NFPA" means National Fire Protection Association.

2.9 "Repair" means any work performed on, or to, any portable
fire extinguisher, and not defined as charging, recharging, or
hydrostatic testing.

2.10 "SFM" means State Fire Marshal or authorized deputy.

2.11 "UCA" means Utah State Code Annotated 1953 as amended.

2.12 "USDOT" means the United States Department of
Transportation.

R710-1-3. Licensing.
3.1 License Required.
No person or concern shall engage in the servicing of portable



fire extinguishers without a license issued by the SFM, pursuant to
these rules, expressly authorizing such concern to perform such acts.

3.2 Application.

3.2.1 Application for a license to engage in the business of,
or perform the servicing of portable fire extinguishers, shall be
made in writing to the SFM on forms provided by the SFM. A separate
application for license shall be made for each separate place or
business location of the applicant (branch office).

3.2.2 The application for a license to engage in the business
of, or perform the servicing of portable fire extinguishers, shall
be accompanied with proof of public liability insurance. The public
liability insurance shall be issued by a public liability insurance
carrier showing coverage of at least $100,000 for each incident, and
$300,000 in total coverage. The licensee shall notify the SFM within
thirty days after the public liability insurance coverage required
is no longer in effect for any reason.

3.3 Signature of Application.

The application shall be signed by the applicant. If the
application is made by a partnership, it shall be signed by all
partners. If the application is made by a corporation or association
other than a partnership, it shall be signed by a principal officer.

3.4 Equipment Inspection.

The applicant or licensee shall allow the SFM, and any of his
properly authorized deputies to enter, examine, and inspect any
premise, building, room, establishment, or vehicle, used by the
applicant in servicing portable fire extinguishers to determine
compliance with the provisions of these rules. The inspection will
be conducted during normal business hours, and the owner or manager
will be given a minimum of 24 hours notice before the appointed
inspection. The equipment inspection may be conducted on an annual
basis, and consent to inspect will be obtained. The applicant,
license holder or certified employee of the license holder, may be
asked during the inspection by the SFM or any of his deputies, to
demonstrate skills or knowledge used in servicing of portable fire
extinguishers.

3.5 Issuance.

Following receipt of the properly completed application, and
compliance with the provision of the statute and these rules, the
SFM shall issue a license.

3.6 Original License and Inspection.

Original licenses shall be valid for one year from the date of
application. Thereafter, each license shall be renewed annually and
renewals shall be valid for one year from issuance. No original
license shall be issued until the satisfactory completion of a
materials, equipment and performance inspection by the SFM.

3.7 Renewal License and Inspection.

Application for renewal shall be made as directed by the SFM.

The failure to renew the license will cause the license to become
invalid. ©No renewal license will be issued until the satisfactory
completion of a materials, equipment and performance inspection by
the SFM. Beginning March 4, 2003, through February 29, 2004, renewal
dates for licensed concerns will be based upon the inspection date
and valid for a one-year period of time. Renewal license fees shall
be prorated monthly, and monthly fees already paid in that time period



shall be credited towards the renewal license fee.

3.8 Refusal to Renew.

The SFM may refuse to renew any license in the same manner, and
for any reason, that he is authorized, pursuant to Section 9 of these
rules to deny a license. The applicant shall, upon such refusal,
have the same rights as are granted by Section 9 of these rules to
an applicant for an original license which has been denied by the
SFM.

3.9 Change of Address.

Every licensee shall notify the SFM, in writing, within thirty
(30) days, of any change of his address or location.

3.10 Under Another Name.

No licensee shall conduct his licensed business under a name
other than the name or names which appears on his license.

3.11 List of Licensed Concerns.

The SFM shall make available, upon request and without cost,
to the chief fire official of each local fire authority, the name,
address, and license number of each concern that is licensed pursuant
to these rules. Upon request, single copies of such list shall be
furnished, without cost, to a licensed concern.

3.12 1Inspection.

The holder of any license shall submit such license for inspection
upon request of the SFM, or any of his properly authorized deputies,
or any local fire official.

3.13 SFM Notification and Certification of Registration.

Every licensed concern shall, within thirty (30) days of
employment, and within thirty (30) days of termination of any employee,
report to the SFM, the name, address, and certificate of registration
number, of every person performing any act of servicing portable fire
extinguishers for such licensed concern in writing.

3.14 Type.

3.14.1 Every license shall be identified by type. The type
of license issued shall be determined on the basis of the act or acts
performed by the licensee or by any of the employees. Every licensed
concern shall be staffed by qualified personnel, and shall be properly
equipped to perform the act or acts for the type of license issued.

3.14.2 Licenses shall authorize any one, or any combination
of the following types of activities:

3.14.2.1 Type 1 - Conducting of all activities, as per (2),
(3), and (4) below, or

3.14.2.2 Type 2 - Conducting hydrostatic tests of fire
extinguisher cylinders using the water jacket or ultrasonic test
methods after receiving a Retesters Identification Number (RIN) issued
by the United States Department of Transportation (USDOT), or

3.14.2.3 Type 3 - Conducting hydrostatic tests of fire
extinguisher cylinders using the proof pressure test method after
receiving a Retesters Identification Number (RIN) issued by the United
States Department of Transportation (USDOT), or

3.14.2.4 Type 4 - Servicing, inspecting, and maintaining all
types of extinguishers, excluding hydrostatic testing.

3.14.3 No licensed concern shall be prohibited from taking
orders for the performance of any act or acts for which the concern
has not been licensed to perform. Such orders shall be consigned
to another licensed concern that is authorized to perform such act



or acts.

3.15 Examination.

Every person who performs any act or acts within the scope of
the license shall pass an examination in accordance with the provisions
of section 4 of these rules.

3.16 Duplicate License.

A duplicate license may be issued by the SFM to replace any
previously issued license, which has been lost or destroyed, upon
the submission of a written statement from the licensee to the SFEM.

Such statement shall attest to the fact that the license has been
lost or destroyed.

3.17 Employer Responsibility.

Every concern shall be responsible for the acts of its employees
insofar as such acts apply to the marketing, sale, distribution, and
servicing of any portable fire extinguisher.

3.18 Minimum Age.

No license shall be issued to any person as licensee who is under
eighteen (18) years of age.

3.19 Restrictive Use.

3.19.1 No license shall constitute authorization for any
licensee, or any of his employees, to enter upon, or into, any property
or building other than by consent of the owner or manager.

3.19.2 No license shall constitute authorization for any
licensee, or any of his employees, to enforce any provision, or
provisions, of this rule, or the International Fire Code.

3.20 Non-Transferable.

No license issued pursuant to this section shall be transferred
from one concern to another.

3.21 Registration Number.

3.21.1 Every license shall be identified by a number, delineated
as E-(number). Such number may be transferred from one concern to
another only when approved by the SFM.

3.22 Minimum Materials and Equipment Required.

At each business location or vehicle of the applicant where
servicing work is performed the following minimum material and
equipment requirements shall be maintained:

3.22.1 Type 4 license:

3.22.1.1 Nitrogen tank.

3.22.1.2 Nitrogen regulator and hose assembly.

3.22.1.3 Minimum of twelve (12) recharge adapters.

3.22.1.4 Valve cleaning brush.

3.22.1.5 Scoop.

3.22.1.6 Funnel for A:B:C.

3.22.1.7 Funnel for B:C.

3.22.1.8 A closed receptacle for dry chemical.

3.22.1.9 Fifty pound scale.

3.22.1.10 A scale for cartridges.

3.22.1.11 'O' Ring lubricant.

3.22.1.12 Tag hole Punch.

3.22.1.13 Approved seals maximum fourteen (14) pound break
strength.

3.22.1.14 A copy of NFPA Standard 10 (1998 Edition), statute,
and these rules.
3.22.1.15 Minimum parts:



3.22.1.15.1 A supply of O rings needed for standard service.

3.22.1.15.2 A supply of valve stems for standard service.

3.22.1.15.3 A supply of nozzles and hoses for standard
extinguishers.

3.22.1.15.4 Pressure gauges for extinguisher types: 100, 150,
175, 195, 240 1lbs.

3.22.1.15.5 Carry handles and replacement handles for
extinguishers.

3.22.1.15.6 Rivets or steel roll pins for handles and levers.

3.22.1.15.7 Dry chemical cartridges as required by manufacture
specifications, to include 4 1lb., 10 1b., 20 lb. and 30 1lb.

3.22.1.15.8 1Inspection light for cylinders.

3.22.1.15.9 A variety of pull pins to secure handle.
3.22.1.15.10 Carbon Dioxide continuity tester for hoses.
3.22.1.16.11 Halon closed recovery system.

3.22.2 Type 3 License:

3.22.2.1 Approved testing pump with a current calibration

certificate for the attached gauges.

3.22.2.2 Test cage or suitable safety barrier.

3.22.2.3 Approved hydro test labels.

3.22.2.4 Hydrostatic test adapters or approved equal.

3.22.2.5 Heater which produces a heated air or dry air for drying
cylinders, or other approved dryer not to exceed 150 degrees Far.
(66 degrees C).

3.22.3 Type 2 License:

Current registration number from the United States Department
of Transportation (USDOT), verifying the concern as a qualified
cylinder requalification facility under the provisions of the Code
of Federal Regulations, 49 CFR, Section 173.34, shall be maintained
for all concerns holding a type 1 or 2 license. A copy of the
certification letter must be submitted to the SFM. All equipment
required to perform the functions allowed as a qualified cylinder
requalification facility, shall be maintained in good working order
and available for inspection by the SFM.

3.22.4 Type 1 License:

All of the equipment, provisions, and numbers as required in
License types 2, 3, and 4 shall be required for a Type 1 License.

3.23 Records.

Accurate records shall be maintained for five years back by the
licensee of all service work performed. These records shall include
the name and address of all servicing locations, and the date and
name of the person performing the work. These records shall be made
available to the SFM, or authorized deputies, upon request.

R710-1-4. Certificates of Registration.

4.1 Required Certificates of Registration.

No person shall service any portable fire extinguisher without
a certificate of registration issued by the SFM pursuant to these
rules expressly authorizing such person to perform such acts. The
provisions of this section apply to the state, universities, a county,
city, district, public authority, and any other political subdivision
or public corporation in this State.

4.2 Exemptions.

The provisions of this section shall not apply to any person



servicing any portable fire extinguisher owned by such person, when
the portable fire extinguisher is not required by any statute, rule,
or ordinance, to be provided or installed.

4.3 Application.

Application for a certificate of registration to service portable
fire extinguishers shall be made in writing to the SFM on forms provided
by him. The application shall be signed by the applicant.

4.4 Examination.

The SFM shall require all applicants for a certificate of
registration to take and pass a written examination, which may be
supplemented by practical tests, when deemed necessary, to determine
the applicant's knowledge of servicing portable fire extinguishers.

Picture identification of the applicant for a certificate of
registration may be requested by the SFM or his deputies.
Examinations will be given according to the following schedule and
requirements:

4.4.1 On the first and third Tuesdays of each month. When
holidays conflict with these days, the day immediately following will
be used. An appointment shall be made to take an examination at least
24 hours in advance of the examination date.

4.4.2 Examinations may be given at various field locations as
deemed necessary by the SFM. Appointments for field examinations
are required.

4.4.3 All certification examinations given are open book
examinations. The applicant is allowed to use the statute, the
administrative rule, and the NFPA standard that applies to the
certification examination. Any other materials to include cellular
telephones are prohibited in the examination room.

4.4.4 Completion of the certification examination will not be
allowed if it appears to the test administrator that the applicant
has not prepared to take the examination.

4.4.5 Each certification examination taken has a time limit

of two hours to completion. To successfully pass the written
examination, the applicant must obtain a minimum grade of seventy
percent (70%). Leaving the office or testing location before the

completion of the examination voids the examination and will require
the examination to be retaken by the applicant.

4.4.6 If there are different levels of proficiency in the
subject matter, the lower proficiency level will be fully completed
before the next higher proficiency will be administered.

4.5 Issuance.

Following receipt of the properly completed application,
compliance with the provisions of these rules, and the successful
completion of the required examination, the SFM shall issue a
certificate of registration.

4.6 Original and Renewal Valid Date.

Original certificates of registration shall be valid for one
year from the date of application. Thereafter, each certificate of
registration shall be renewed annually and renewals shall be valid

for one year from issuance. The holder of an invalid certificate
of registration shall not perform any work on portable fire
extinguishers.

4.7 Renewal Date.
Application for renewal shall be made as directed by the SFM.



The failure to renew will cause the certificate of registration to
become invalid. Beginning March 4, 2003 through February 29, 2004,
renewal dates for certification of registrations will be based upon
the license inspection date and valid for a one-year period of time.

Renewal certificate of registrations shall be prorated monthly, and
monthly fees already paid in that time period shall be credited towards
the renewal fee.

4.8 Re-examination.

Every holder of a valid certificate of registration shall take
a re—-examination every five years, from date of original certificate,
to comply with the provisions of Section 4.4 of these rules as follows:

4.8.1 The re-examination to comply with the provisions of
Section 4.4 of these rules shall consist of one 25 question open book
examination, to be mailed to the certificate holder at least 60 days
before the renewal date.

4.8.2 The 25 question re-examination will consist of questions
that focus on changes in the last five years to NFPA 10, the statute,
or the adopted administrative rules. The re-examination may also
consist of questions that focus on practices of concern as noted by
the Board or the SFM.

4.8.3 The certificate holder is responsible to complete the
re-examination and return it to the SFM in sufficient time to renew.

4.8.4 The certificate holder is responsible to return to the
SFM the correct renewal fees to complete that certificate renewal.

4.9 Refusal to Renew.

The SFM may refuse to renew any certificate of registration in
the same manner and for any reason that he is authorized, pursuant
to Section 10, to deny an original certificate of registration. The
applicant shall, upon such refusal, have the same rights as are granted
by Section 10 of these rules to an applicant for an original certificate
of registration which has been denied by the SFM.

4.10 Inspection.

The holder of a certificate of registration shall submit such
certificate for inspection, upon request of the SFM, any of his
properly authorized deputies, or any local fire official.

4.11 Type.

4.11.1 Every certificate of registration shall indicate the
type of act or acts to be performed and for which the applicant has
qualified.

4.11.2 No person holding a valid certificate of registration
shall be authorized to perform any act unless he is a licensee or
is employed by a licensed concern.

4.12 Change of Address.

Any change in home address of any holder of a valid certificate
of registration shall be reported in writing, by the registered person
to the SFM within thirty (30) days of such change. Such change shall
also be made on the reverse side of the certificate of registration
by the holder.

4.13 Duplicate.

A duplicate certificate of registration may be issued by the
SFM to replace any previously issued certificate which has been lost
or destroyed upon the submission of a written statement to the SFM
from the certified person. Such statement shall attest to the
certificate having been lost or destroyed.



4.14 Minimum Age.

No certificate of registration shall be issued to any person
who is under 18 years of age.

4.15 Restrictive Use.

4.15.1 A certificate of registration may be wused for
identification purposes only as long as such certificate remains valid
and while the holder is employed by a licensed concern.

4.15.2 Regardless of the acts authorized to be performed by
a licensed concern, only those acts for which the applicant for a
certificate of registration has qualified shall be permissible by
such applicant.

4.16 Right to Contest.

4.16.1 Every person who takes an examination for a certificate
of registration shall have the right to contest the wvalidity of
individual questions of such examination.

4.16.2 Every contention as to the wvalidity of individual
questions of an examination shall be made in writing within 48 hours
after taking said examination. Contentions shall state the reason
for the objection.

4.16.3 The decision as to the action to be taken on the submitted
contention shall be by the SFM, and such decision shall be final.

4.16.4 The decision made by the SFM, and the action taken, shall
be reflected in all future examinations, but shall not affect the
grades established in any past examination.

4.17 Non-Transferable.

Certificates of Registration shall not be transferable.
Individual certificates of registration shall be carried by the person
to whom issued.

4.18 New Employees.

New employees of a licensed concern may perform the various acts
while under the direct supervision of persons holding a valid
certificate of registration for a period not to exceed forty-five
(45) days from the initial date of employment. By the end of such
period, new employees shall have taken and passed the required
examination.

4.19 Certificate Identification.

Every certificate shall be identified by a number, delineated
as EE- (number) . Such number shall not be transferred from one person
to another.

R710-1-5. Seal of Registration.

5.1 Description.

The official seal of registration of the SFM shall consist of
the following:

5.1.1 The image of the State of Utah shall be in the center
with an outer ring stating, "Utah State Fire Marshal".

5.1.1.1 The top portion of the outer ring shall have the wording
"Utah State".

5.1.1.2 The Bottom portion of the outer ring shall have the
wording "Fire Marshal".

5.1.2 Appending above the top portion and in a centered
position, shall be a box provided for displaying the type of license.

5.1.3 Appending below the bottom portion and in a centered
position, shall be a box provided for the displaying of the license



number assigned to the concern.

5.2 Use of Seal.

No person or concern shall produce, reproduce, or use this seal
in any manner or for any purpose except as herein provided.

5.3 Permissive Use.

Licensed concerns shall use the Seal of Registration on every
service tag conforming to section 10.

5.4 Cease Use Order.

No person or concern shall continue the use of the Seal of
Registration in any manner or for any purpose after receipt of a notice
in writing from the SFM to that effect, or upon the suspension or
revocation of the concern's license.

5.5 Legibility.

Every reproduction of the Seal of Registration and every letter
and number placed thereon, shall be of sufficient size to render such
seal, letter, and number distinct and clearly legible.

R710-1-6. Service Tags.

6.1 Size and Color.

Tags shall be not more than five and one-half inches (5-1/2")
in height, nor less than four and one-half inches (4-1/2") in height,
and not more than three inches (3") in width, nor less than two and
one-half inches (2-1/2") in width.

6.2 Attaching Tag.

One service tag shall be attached to each portable fire
extinguisher in such a position as to be conveniently inspected.
Tag Information.

1 Service tags shall bear the following information:

1.1 Provisions of Section 6.7.

1.2 Type of license.

1.3 Approved Seal of Registration of the SFM.

1.4 License registration "E" number.

1.5 Certificate of registration "EE" number of individual

who p rmed or supervised the service or services performed.
.1.6 Signature of individual whose certificate of

ion number appears on the tag.

1.7 Concern's name.

1.8 Concern's address.

1.9 Type of service performed.

1.10 Type of extinguisher serviced.

1.11 Date service is performed.

.2 The above information shall appear on one side of the

service tag. All other desired printing or information shall be

placed on the reverse side of the tag.

6.4 Legibility.

6.4.1 The certificate of registration number required in
Section 6.3(5), and the signature required in Section 6.3(6), shall
be printed or written distinctly.

6.4.2 All information pertaining to date, type of servicing,
and type of extinguisher serviced shall be indicated on the card by
perforations in the appropriate space provided. Each perforation
shall clearly indicate the desired information.

6.5 Format.

Subject to the use requirements of Section 6.4, the following
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format shall be used for all service tags:

EXAMPLE OF SERVICE TAG

Exception: Service tags may be printed or otherwise established
for any number of years not in excess of five (5) years. ILLUSTRATION
ON FILE IN STATE FIRE MARSHAL'S OFFICE

6.6 New Tag.

A new service tag shall be attached to the extinguisher each
time a service is performed.

6.7 Tag Wording.

The following wording shall be placed at the top or reinforced
ring end of every tag: "DO NOT REMOVE, BY ORDER OF THE STATE FIRE
MARSHAL".

6.8 Removal.

No person or persons shall remove a service tag, hydrostatic
test tag or label, 6 year maintenance service tag or label, or
verification of service collar, except when further service is
performed. At that time the expired tag, label or collar shall be
removed and a new tag, label or collar shall replace the expired one.

No person or persons shall deface, modify, or alter any service tag,
hydrostatic test tag or label, 6 year maintenance service tag or label,
or verification of service collar that is required to be attached
to any portable fire extinguisher.

6.9 Restrictive Use.

6.9.1 Portable fire extinguishers which do not conform with
the minimum rules, shall be permanently removed from service, and
shall not be tagged.

6.9.2 Any extinguisher which fails a hydrostatic test shall
be condemned, and so stamped or etched into the cylinder or shell.

6.9.3 Extinguishers, other than one which has failed a
hydrostatic test, may be provided with a tag stating the extinguisher
is "Condemned" or "Rejected". Such tags shall be red in color, and

shall be not less, in size, than that of an approved service tag.
6.9.4 Service tags shall only be placed on portable fire
extinguishers and wheeled units as allowed in these rules.

R710-1-7. Portable Fire Extinguisher Rated Classification Labels.

7.1 Use of Label.

Any label bearing the rated classification and listing shall
not be placed upon any extinguisher unless specifically authorized
by the manufacturer. Any extinguisher, other than carbon dioxide,
without this manufacturer's label shall not be serviced.

7.2 Labels Prohibited.

Company labels or advertisement stickers other than those
required herein shall not be affixed to fire extinguishers.

R710-1-8. Amendments and Additions.

8.1 Restricted Service.

Any extinguisher requiring a hydrostatic test as required, shall
not be serviced until such extinguisher has been subjected to, and
passed the required hydrostatic test.

8.2 Service.

At the time of installation, and at each annual inspection, all
servicing shall be done in accordance with the manufacturer's
instructions, adopted statutes, and these rules. Extinguishers shall



be placed in an operable condition, free from defects which may cause
malfunctions. Nozzles and hoses shall be free of obstructions or
substances which may cause an obstruction.

8.3 Seals or Tamper Indicator.

Seals or tamper indicators shall be constructed of approved
plastic or non-ferrous wire which can be easily broken, and so arranged
that removal cannot be accomplished without breakage. Such seals
or tamper indicators shall be used to retain the locking pin in a
locked position. Seals or tamper indicators shall be removed annually
to ensure that the pull pin is free.

8.4 New Extinguishers

A new extinguisher that has the date of manufacture printed on
the label by the manufacturer, or date of manufacture stamped on the
extinguisher by the manufacturer, does not require a service tag
attached to the extinguisher until one year after the date of
manufacture.

8.5 Those existing sodium or potassium bicarbonate dry-chemical
portable fire extinguishers, having a minimum rating of 40-B, and
specifically placed for protection of commercial food heat-processing
equipment, may remain in the kitchen to be used for other applications,
except the protection of commercial food heat-processing equipment
using vegetable or animal oils or fat cooking media.

R710-1-9. Adjudicative Proceedings.

9.1 All adjudicative proceedings performed by the agency shall
proceed informally as authorized by UCA, Sections 63G-4-202 and
63G-4-203.

9.2 The issuance, renewal, or continued validity of a license
or certificate of registration may be denied, suspended, or revoked,
if the SFM finds that the applicant, person employed for, or the person
having authority and management of a concern servicing portable fire
extinguishers commits any of the following violations:

9.2.1 The person or applicant is not the real person in interest.

9.2.2 The person or applicant provides material
misrepresentation or false statement on the application.

9.2.3 The person or applicant refuses to allow inspection by
the SFM, or his duly authorized deputies.

9.2.4 The person or applicant for a license or certificate of
registration does not have the proper facilities and equipment to
conduct the operations for which application is made.

9.2.5 The person or applicant for a certificate of registration
does not possess the qualifications of skill or competence to conduct
the operations for which application is made, as evidenced by failure
to pass the examination and/or practical tests pursuant to Section
4.15 of these rules.

9.2.6 The person or applicant fails to place a verification
of service collar when required on the valve assembly of any fire
extinguisher when the following occurs:

9.2.6.1 re-charge;

9.2.6.2 required maintenance.

9.2.7 The person or applicant refuses to take the examination
required by Section 4.3 and Section 3.14 of these rules.

9.2.8 The person or applicant has been convicted of one or more
federal, state or local laws.



9.2.9 The person or applicant has been convicted of a violation
of the adopted rules or been found by a Board administrative proceeding
to have violated the adopted rules.

9.2.10 Any offense or finding of unlawful conduct, or there
is or may be, a threat to the public's health or safety if the applicant
or person were granted a license or certificate of registration.

9.2.11 There are other factors upon which a reasonable and
prudent person would rely to determine the suitability of the applicant
or person to safely and competently engage in the practice of servicing
portable fire extinguishers.

9.3 A person whose license or certificate of registration is
suspended or revoked by the SFM shall have an opportunity for a hearing
before the Board if requested by that person within 20 days after
receiving notice.

9.4 All adjudicative proceedings, other than criminal
prosecution, taken by the SFM to enforce the Utah Fire Prevention
and Safety Act, and these rules, shall commence in accordance with
UCA, Section 63G-4-201.

9.5 The Board shall act as the hearing authority, and shall
convene after timely notice to all parties involved. The Board shall
be the final authority on the suspension or revocation of a license
or certificate of registration.

9.6 The Board shall direct the SFM to issue a signed order to
the parties involved giving the decision of the Board within a
reasonable time of the hearing pursuant to UCA, Section 63G-4-203.

9.7 Reconsideration of the Board decision may be requested in
writing within 20 days of the date of the decision pursuant to UCA,
Section 63G-4-302.

9.8 After a period of three years from the date of revocation,
the Board shall review the submitted written application of a person
whose license or certificate of registration has been revoked. After
timely notice to all parties involved, the Board shall convene to
review the revoked persons application, and that person shall be
allowed to present themselves and their case before the Board. After
the hearing, the Board shall direct the SFM to allow the person to
complete the licensing or certification process or shall direct that
the revocation be continued.

9.9 Judicial review of all final Board actions resulting from
informal adjudicative proceedings shall be conducted pursuant to UCA,
Section 63G-4-402.

R710-1-10. Fees.

10.1 Fee Schedule.

10.1.1 Licenses and Certificates of Registration (new and
renewals) :

10.1.1.1 License (any type) . . . . . . . . . . . $300.00
10.1.1.2 Branch office license . . . . . . . . . . 150.00
10.1.1.3 Certificate of registration . . . . . . . . 40.00
10.1.1.4 Duplicate . . . . . . . . . .+ < . < . . . . 40.00
10.1.1.5 License Transfer . . . . . . . . . . . . . 50.00
10.1.1.6 Application for exemption . . . . . . . . 150.00
10.1.2 Examinations:

10.1.2.1 1Initial examination. . . . . . . . . . . . 30.00
10.1.2.2 Re-examination . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30.00



10.1.2.3 Five year examination. . . . . . . . . . . 30.00

10.2 Payment of Fees.

The required fee shall accompany the application for license
or certificate of registration. License or certificate of
registration fees will be refunded if the application is denied.

10.3 Late Renewal Fees.

10.3.1 Any license or certificate of registration not renewed
before January lst will be subject to an additional fee equal to 10%
of the required inspection fee.

10.3.2 When a certificate of registration has expired for more
than one year, an application shall be made for an original certificate
as 1f the application was being made for the first time. Examinations
will be re-taken with initial examination fees.

KEY: fire prevention, extinguishers
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