
OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL 
 

Kitchen Exhaust Inspection & Cleaning Licensing Criteria 

 

The Office of the State Fire Marshal has established criteria of conditions for Kitchen Exhaust System 
Inspectors & Cleaners (KES) who wish to perform work in the State of Utah. These conditions are in 
keeping with the guidelines as established by the State Legislature in the Utah State Administrative Rule 
R-710.7 to establish requirements for automatic fire suppression systems to include service in the 
inspection and cleaning of commercial cooking hoods and ventilation systems. 

LICENSE  

Kitchen exhaust system inspection and cleaning concerns are required to be licensed by the Office of the 
State Fire Marshal (SFM). “No person or concern shall engage in the business of selling, installing, 
servicing, repairing, testing or modifying any kitchen exhaust system without obtaining a license from 
the SFM, pursuant to these rules expressly authorizing such concern to perform such acts. To obtain a 
license to service kitchen exhaust systems, 

1. An application for a license to conduct business as a Kitchen Exhaust System service company 
shall be made in writing to the SFM on forms provided by the SFM. 

2. Through the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI), the applicant shall provide a criminal 
background check at the time of application.   

3. The application shall be accompanied with proof of public liability insurance and shall be issued 
by a public liability insurance carrier. 

4. The applicant or licensee shall allow the SFM or any authorized deputies to examine and inspect 
any premises, building, room or vehicle used by the applicant in the service of kitchen exhaust 
systems. (Equipment and tools to service are a necessary requirement to actually do business.) 

5. An annual license fee shall be paid for licensure or renewal of such license. 
6. Service labels shall be printed and comply with requirements as established by these guidelines. 

CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION 

No person shall service any kitchen exhaust system without serving under a licensed kitchen exhaust 
system inspection and cleaning concern.  No person shall service any KES without holding a certificate of 
registration issued by the SFM pursuant to these rules expressly authorizing such person to perform 
such acts. 

To obtain a Certificate of Registration the applicant; inspector, service technician shall:  

1. Complete an application for a certificate of registration to work on kitchen exhaust systems, 
which shall be made in writing to the SFM on forms provided by the SFM.  

2. Through the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI), the applicant shall provide a written 
criminal background check at the time of application.  

3. Examination Fee: $30.00     Annual Certificate Fee: $40.00     Total:  $70.00, for each applicant. 
4. Pass a written examination based on the currently adopted National Fire Protection Standard 

(NFPA) 96, 17A and the Utah Administrative Code R-710.7. 
Note: To pass these examinations the applicant shall be trained by properly trained, qualified 
and certified persons and shall have reasonable knowledge of R-710.7 and NFPA standards 
before the examination is administered to them. 



5. This examination is administered by appointment on the first (1st) and third (3rd) Tuesdays of 
each month at the Office of the State Fire Marshal. Various field locations throughout the State 
may be identified within these guidelines. 

6. Examination questions are protected and are administered in open book format by a security 
proctor. 

7. A minimum grade of 70% must be obtained on each portion of the examination to pass. 
8. The examination series may include an actual demonstration or a pass/fail practical examination 

may be administered after passing the written examination. 
9. Documentation of work hour experience in the inspection and cleaning industry or proof of 

attendance of a recognized and approved training school is acceptable and appreciated. 

Applicants, who apply for a certificate of registration, shall be familiar with the guidelines for reporting 
deficiencies found, posting of service labels and other administrative requirements. 
 

 

 

Application and Instructions 

Advisory – To all kitchen exhaust system service, inspectors, cleaners and technicians. 

Be advised that all commercial hood and ventilation cleaning companies/contractors performing work in 
the State of Utah are required by law to issue a “Completion and Deficiency Report” to the 
establishment owner after the inspection and/or cleaning is completed.  (NFPA 96.11.6.14)  

When the system does not comply with NFPA 96 standards or is found to be in an unsafe condition; is 
inaccessible with areas not cleaned or mandated repairs are needed, the system shall receive a non-
compliance (RED) tag.  (R710.7.5.9.1). 

All deficiency reports and/or reasoning for applying the red-tag, must be given to the establishment 
owner or their responsible party with an explanation and a copy of the report with red-tag information, 
forwarded to the local fire department, fire marshal or authority having jurisdiction (AHJ), (NFPA 
96.11.6.15), within five (5) days after date of service. 

 

Once work has been completed to clear the deficiency, by repair, cleaning, service, the “RED tag” may 
be removed from the system and a “Completion Report” given to the owner or responsible party with 
an explanation of how the deficiency was cleared. A copy of the completion report must then be sent to 
the authority having jurisdiction. The AHJ may require a follow up inspection of the facility. 

 

Kitchen Exhaust Inspection & Cleaning Guidelines 
 

 Sample Inspection & Deficiency Report 

 Service Label Requirement, Instructions and Usage. 

 Testing Field Locations 

 On-site Exhaust System Diagram 

 Restaurant & Commercial Kitchen Inspection & Cleaning Fact Sheet 

 Registered Inspectors and Cleaners 
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